Creamy Shrimp and Grits

Posted on

This recipe from Ellie Krieger and Comfort Food Fix, although creamy as promised, is missing one ingredient:  cheese.

DSC_1194

You know I love my colors, so bear with me.

DSC_1179

I actually took some liberties here.  EK calls for a red pepper, but I had some leftovers that I was very happy to use up.

DSC_1181

Every time I peel and devein my own shrimp I swear I’m never going to do it again.

DSC_1183

They seem very happy hanging out with their little crispy Canadian bacon friends, don’t they?

DSC_1185

Unfortunately they had to evacuate the pan to make room for more colors.

DSC_1187

Still beautiful after six minutes of sizzling.

DSC_1193

So I already disclosed the lack of cheese and you should know that the rest of the grits are just water and 1% milk with only one tablespoon of butter.  I had to make an exception to my 400-calorie rule because this dish comes in at 510.  Still totally worth it, in my opinion.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

Leave a comment