RSS Feed

Dreamy Butternut Squash Mac n Cheese

Posted on

I guess technically this is shells and cheese.

DSC_2483

Warning:  I think this dish might be the reason I didn’t lose any weight last week.  But I am not going to hold that against it.

DSC_2479

Isn’t it beautiful?  2.5 pounds of squash, 6 garlic cloves, sprig of thyme, 2 cups of almond milk, and 2 cups of chicken stock.   Cook the squash until tender.  If you’re lucky enough to have an immersion blender this would be the time to pull it out.

Cook a pound of small pasta and then combine with the puree.

DSC_2480

At this point I was pretty sure that I had just made soup with some pasta.

DSC_2481

Never underestimate the power of the oven:  cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes at 375.

Top with a mixture of panko, garlic, parsley, and salt.  If you’re using garlic don’t make the mistake I made.  It seems that I always wind up with really strong garlic when it’s not going to be cooked.  Add a touch of Gruyere and put it under the broiler for five or ten minutes.

DSC_2482

Even my husband liked this, until I made the mistake of telling him that it was squash.

DSC_2485

I should disclose that some salt wouldn’t hurt.

Candice Kumai/Cook Yourself Sexy

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

