RSS Feed

Bridemaid’s Slimming Soup

Posted on

Sorry about hitting you with the extreme close-up right away, but the other shots had a little shine and I did NOT want you to think that this soup is greasy.  Let me tell you about this soup:

DSC_2460

It is fabulous!  First of all, it makes eight servings.  I’m usually good for four.  Five is pretty much the limit.  I figured I could throw some sausage in there and give the leftovers to my husband.  He never even knew it was in the fridge.  I ate it all by myself.

DSC_2451

Those are leeks back there.

DSC_2454

I may have gone a little overboard on the thyme, but have you ever heard anyone say, uh, I think there’s too much thyme in here?

Here’s the basics:  cook a cup of barley and set aside.  Saute all of the above for about 12 minutes.  Add six cups of chicken/vegetable stock and bring to a simmer.  Add two cups of chopped kale and simmer for ten.  Stir in the cooked barley.

Here’s where it gets crazy:  add 1/2 cup of walnuts.  If you think it’s nuts to add nuts to soup, think again.  They add a nice little crunch.

This was in CK’s seven-day plan.  Apparently if you have to be in a wedding and wear a fancy dress it should help you slim down.  CK has done this several times.  Personally, I’ve been an MOH or a BM four times, but the only wedding I ever slimmed down for was my own.  If I was more organized I would torture you with some photographic evidence.  You’re welcome.

Anyway, CK recommends a toasted pita with the soup.  I am a wholehearted dip-your-PB&J-into-your-soup kind of girl.  And a few saltines on the end won’t hurt either.  I’m here to tell you that the toasted pita was an excellent choice.  I scooped some soup by the bite.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

