RSS Feed

Homemade Veggie Burgers

Posted on

I’m really tempted to call these Best Ever, but it’s actually my first attempt at the homemade version so I don’t want to be too uppity.

DSC_2434

My only complaint is the amount of shallots.  1/2 a cup is just too much.  But that’s just me.

The rest is just a can of chickpeas and a cup of rolled oats with 1/2 cup of walnuts in the food processor.   Add a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce and your herb/spice of choice.  I, of course, followed the recipe to a T and used cumin, turmeric, and fresh oregano.

DSC_2432

It makes a pretty good size patty.

DSC_2433

They brown up very nicely.

DSC_2436

And they’re only 284 calories.

I did deviate a little bit on the leftovers.  The recipe suggested topping with arugula and sliced apples.   Well, my wheels started turning, and I wound up using yesterday’s salad as a topping.  It added the perfect crunch.

Candice Kumai/Cook Yourself Sexy

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. These look way better than anything I ever tried. Mine always fall apart. Thanks for posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

