RSS Feed

Macerated Fresh Peaches

Posted on

Over Homemade Muesli.

DSC_2442

I’m sorry to interrupt your regularly scheduled programming with a special announcement:  This blog is going on a diet.

I really hate to use the word diet, because it implies deprivation and boring meals.  Au contraire.  I never go hungry.  In fact, I usually eat more on a diet.  Hello, snacking on fruit three times a day.    However, this means that unless the cookbook has calorie counts, it ain’t happening.  Depressing, I know.  That means good-bye Giada, Brian Boitano, and Joy the Baker, et al.  Never fear, these strict guidelines will only be adhered to until my vacation in November.

At the moment, though, I need constant vigilance.   Fortunately, I am already a fan of Candice Kumai.  This recipe is from her new book, Cook Yourself Sexy.   I couldn’t resist the menus and the fact that CK steers clear of processed ingredients and focuses on food with benefits.

Two things CK recommends we will not be doing:  giving up coffee and switching to almond milk.   I think the first needs no explanation.  As for the almond milk, I’ve got nothing against it.  I actually used to use soy milk on my cereal for years because it was only one WW point instead of two.  I just don’t feel the need.

Before you get started you should know that’ I’ve lost four pounds in four days.

On with the show.

DSC_2439

You’ve gotta love a recipe that you can make in a Ziploc bag.    And you’re welcome.  I took a picture of every layer of this mix and decided not to post them.   So you’ll allow me one more of the mix.  Thanks.

DSC_2422

The peaches are macerated in elderflower liqueur.  No complaints here.  But it did make me wonder if I could eat them at work and then drive home.

DSC_2410

Even though I am a fan of the fact that variety is the spice of life, for the next two months it’s going to be all CK all the time.  At least that’s the plan.

Full disclosure:  I bought a book called Cheese Obsession yesterday.   Yes, it’s filled with cheese recipes.   Stay tuned.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

