RSS Feed

Braised Chuck Roast

Posted on

I am a firm believer in celebrating your birthday for a whole weekend or sometimes even a week.  In fact, I had a friend wish me a happy birthmonth yesterday.  What’s this got to do with chuck roast, you say?  One of my favorite dishes that my mom used to make was a chuck roast with brown potatoes; so I decided I needed to treat myself for my birthday.  Of course this version was in the crock pot and my mom’s was one of those electric skillet masterpieces, but close enough.

DSC_2341

You’ll never guess what the secret ingredient is; so I’m just going to come right out and tell you:  gingersnaps.

DSC_2402

Give six of these a spin in the food processor and then toss them in the crock pot.

DSC_2321

Add eight ounces of baby carrots.

DSC_2322

Two stalks of celery.

DSC_2323

One onion.

DSC_2324

And then the good stuff:  one cup of dry red wine, two tablespoons of red wine vinegar, and then 1/4 cup of raisins.  Don’t forget the S&P.  If my mom knew about the gingersnaps she would disapprove.  If she knew about the raisins I’m pretty sure she would just refuse to eat it.

DSC_2327

Add a two-pound boneless chuck roast and turn on the crock pot.  Six hours on high did the trick for me.

DSC_2329

This was around the three-hour mark.  Man, did it smell good.

DSC_2344

My mom’s version didn’t really have a sauce.  I’m not ashamed to say that I used to douse it ketchup.

DSC_2350

I just had to add some little boiled potatoes.

And here’s the best news:  it comes in under 400 calories, without the potatoes.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. Oh I love long birthday celebrations! We always celebrate for at least a week — mostly because we have trouble remembering dates, but we have lots of fun! The pot roast looks great. That’s my kind of birthday meal!

    Reply
  2. I never thought about “birthmonth” celebrations, although we usually have “BirthdayWeek” as my birthday is exactly 7 days before hubby’s!
    A few weeks ago I had baked apple on top of some roasted beef. It was delicious.
    Gingersnaps..yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

