RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  Well, you know I love to start the week with a day off.  Unfortunately this one included a trip to the canine dermatologist.  Phoebe has battled itchies and bumpies for years.  Now we are trying some preventative techniques and she’s on more medications than I am.

I made some Peach Melba Compote from Sherri Brooks Vinton’s Put Em Up! Fruit.

DSC_2165

So good on ice cream!

Tuesday:  I spent seven hours in Macon and three hours in the car.  That really doesn’t leave much time for anything else.  Except drinking.

Wednesday:  I obviously went from ice cream mode to canning mode.  I made Tomato-Ginger Refrigerator Lemon Verbena Jam from Southern Living’s Little Jars, Big Flavors.

DSC_2152

I promptly put it on a grilled cheese and bacon sandwich!

Thursday:  I had a crappy little job this morning.  Then I got to meet Marnie for coffee!

I also made Hungry Girl’s Banana Split Cheesecake.

DSC_2196

Friday:  Another crappy job.  Are we noticing a trend here?

I made Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce from Better Homes and Gardens.

DSC_2191

I am no where near a canning expert.  But if I have any advice to give you, it’s that you should never start a canning project at 6:00 p.m.  Especially when you have to roast six heads of garlic and four peppers.  And you know what follows?  Squishing all that garlic out and peeling the peppers.  Speaking of, why don’t I roast garlic more often?  There should be roasted garlic scented candles.

Saturday:   Well, first of all, I slept until 10:30 by mistake.  I hate when that happens.  Other than that, very exciting stuff going on here, you know, like work and laundry.

I also made Honey-Sweetened Peach Chutney from Food in Jars.  I’ve been following this blog for about a year or so now and this is the first recipe I’ve made.  I don’t know what took me so long!

DSC_2198

Excellent with some goat cheese.  I also feel the need to stir it into some rice.

Sunday:  More exciting stuff here, you know, like work and paying bills.  That’s okay.  I’m sure I will have a day off this week where I can go out and about.

Introducing Cherry Mostarda from Put ‘Em Up! Fruit.

DSC_2199

There’s a lot more where this little jar came from.  There’s red wine in there and I just want to drink it with a straw.

I suspect that next week there will be very little cooking going on because I have a fridge full of little jars that didn’t seal.  Apparently I’m not very adept at wiping the rims.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

