RSS Feed

Sassy Veggie Egg Rolls

Posted on

Do you want to see what’s inside there?

DSC_2161

I guess it’s the usual egg roll attendees:  celery, bean sprouts, cabbage, pineapple, water chestnuts, and celery.

DSC_2156

The pineapple might be a little unusual, though.  I was hoping that it would be the shining star, but the water chestnuts really stand out.  .  . crunch, crunch, crunch.

Add some soy sauce and garlic and bake at 375 for 25 minutes.

DSC_2162

Not very pretty, huh?  I haven’t quite figured out why Hungry Girl calls them sassy.

The recipe was supposed to make twelve, but I only had enough filling for nine.  I had extra ingredients, but didn’t feel like dealing with the cabbage, so I steamed some broccoli and added some ginger.

DSC_2157

Not bad for a girl who doesn’t like to deviate from a recipe.

DSC_2163

Much prettier, eh?

Of course the broccoli filling brought my total egg roll count to 16.  They’re supposed to be 82 calories each; so of course I had three for lunch, which I dipped in some peach jam.   I can’t believe that I’ve lived my whole life without realizing how closely related peach jam is to duck sauce.

Now I still have wrappers left and I need a non-egg-roll-type filling.  I’m thinking apples, but surely there’s some savory combo that’s screaming for avocado or something.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

