RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  I think every Monday should start with flowers.

DSC_2104

I met Marnie for lunch at the Cheesecake Factory.   I had the Barbecue Ranch Chicken Salad.  I have frequented the CF in many states, over many years, and although I love a lot of dishes on the menu, I really think this is my favorite.  Avocado, corn, black beans, onion rings, and more.

I have a few top favorites in the cheesecake category too:  Craig’s Crazy Carrot Cake, Dulce De Leche, Red Velvet, Vanilla Bean . . . just to name a few.  As you can see, I kinda steer clear of too much chocolate.  Today that flew out the window.  I could not resist the Toasted Marshmallow S’mores Galore.

menu_Smores_Cheesecake[1]

Can you blame me?

Tuesday:  I managed to avoid The Call today.  Other than that, not much going on, which makes this a perfect recover-from-vacation day.  I made this Strawberry-Watermelon Rum from Edible DIY.  I’ll get back to you in month when it comes out of the closet.

DSC_2109

I also made Summer Minestrone from the Fresh Market cookbook.  Notice that piece of ciabatta bread peeking out from under all of those veggies.

DSC_2116

Wednesday:  I am obviously being punished for ignoring The Call.  I had to go to Cleveland today for a two-day job.  Who even knew there was a Cleveland, Georgia?  Apparently, it’s the home of the Cabbage Patch dolls.

20130814_113642

No, I didn’t go to the museum, even though there is one.  This was a display case in the courthouse.

The best thing about having to drive an hour and a half into the country is being able to stop at a farm stand on the way home.  I picked up some corn and peaches and tomatoes.  Do y’all know how easy it is to freeze corn?  You cook it for three minutes and then cut the corn off.  Done.  I think I picked the easiest recipe in Put ‘Em Up!  That exclamation point is part of the title, but I do really feel like exclaiming.

DSC_2115

Side note:  You should never see an exclamation point in a transcript.  A court reporter is not an interpreter.  In other words, we’re not there to judge emotions.  What’s the point?  (Pun intended, I guess.)  Personally, I tend to overuse the exclamation point.  I put them everywhere.  When I send in my jobs to our production department I sign off with a Thanks!   I’m sure every text has at least five to ten.

Thursday:  Another day in paradise, aka Cleveland.

I made Fresh Peach Ice Cream from Ice Cream.

DSC_2146

I love a no-cook ice cream recipe.  Just peel four peaches and coarsely chop them.  Toss them in the food processor with a can of sweetened condensed milk  and the juice of a lemon.  Strain it through a sieve.  Whip 1-1/4 cups of heavy whipping cream and fold it into the peach mixture.  Then process in the ice cream maker.

Friday:  I am in total ice cream mode.  I have used Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home many times.  I love her base recipe, which doesn’t include eggs.  I don’t know why I think that’s important.  Usually it’s milk and cream with a little corn syrup and cream cheese.  This time I made the Beet Ice Cream With Mascarpone, Orange Zest, and Poppy Seeds.  Man, that’s a long title.

DSC_2138

I don’t quite get the poppy seeds, but I don’t question Jeni.

Saturday:  I forced myself to go to the Peachtree Road Farmers Market.  I say forced because I’ve been meaning to go for weeks now and something always happens.  Something is usually sleeping.   I went looking for peaches and tomatoes and maybe some more corn, but I left with $14 worth of baked goods.  I realized today that farmers markets are for morning people.  I had my sights set on a little French pastry, and they were sold out of all the fruity types.  I wound up with some sweet potato muffins/biscuits/cheesecake.

I used Jeni’s Backyard Mint Ice Cream recipe and made a lemon verbena version.

DSC_2140

It may look like vanilla but it packs a punch.  Well, it’s actually more like a zing.

Sunday:  Obviously I have some peaches to use up.  I made Peach Ice Cream from The Perfect Scoop.

DSC_2147

This was a mostly no-cook recipe.  You do cook the peaches, but that’s it.  Then they go in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients, which includes sour cream.

Well, Dear Reader, I hate to break it to you, but fall is nigh.  I really feel like we got cheated out of summer here in Atlanta.  I don’t think it got into the 90s for the last four weeks, and we’ve had lots and lots and lots of rain.  This weekend it was downright chilly; I ordered a hot coffee at Starbucks.  That usually doesn’t happen until November.  I love fall, but clearly my ice cream marathon was a blatant attempt to cling to summer!

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

