RSS Feed

Pickled Peach and Bacon Dogs

Posted on

With Arugula Mayo.

DSC_2063

Trust me when I tell you that there’s a hot dog under there.

The first step to a perfect hot dog:

DSC_2044

Toasted buns.  Shout it from the rooftops, people.

I want to put this mayo on everything, in large quantities.

DSC_2053

In fact, I think next time I will use it as a chip dip.  For the record, there’s basil in there too.

DSC_2054

I’ve never pickled a peach before.  I think this changed my life.  If you have 20 minutes you should try it.

DSC_2061

After you toast the bun then slather on the mayo, shove in the bacon, stack on those peaches, squeeze in the dog, and top with arugula.  I also highly recommend some extra mayo and peaches on your plate so you can make sure that you get plenty of both in each bite.

This recipe is from Better Homes and Gardens and it’s worth the price of a five-year subscription.  My husband won’t even put ketchup on a hot dog; he is a strict mustard-only kind of guy.  He ate three of these as-is.  In case you don’t recognize it, that’s a ringing endorsement.

DSC_2048

I finally used my new tray from Williams-Sonoma.  It was perfect to lug everything down to the patio in one trip.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

