RSS Feed

Hearty Veggie and Chicken Pot Pie

Posted on

Isn’t pot pie something everyone wants in the middle of summer?  I’ve been hearing all these stories about record heat, but here in Atlanta it’s only been in the 80s and there’s been lots of rain.  To me, that’s a good enough reason for some comfort food.

I agree.  The crust should be a little crispier.  What if I tell you it’s only 300 calories per serving?  I think that makes up for a little limp puff pastry.  In fact, my husband went for seconds, so you know it’s good.

DSC_2029

This recipe from Candice Kumai and Pretty Delicious starts out with the basics.

DSC_2022

Well, said basics would be onions, but the twist here is parsnips.  I must admit that I am not a parsnip lover, but I figured they wouldn’t hurt in this instance.  I was right; they’re chopped small enough that they just blend in.

DSC_2023

Are you noticing a little color trend here?

DSC_2025

The chicken thighs didn’t really add to the brightness factor.

DSC_2026

Finally!  Simmer about 20 minutes until the potatoes are cooked.  Transfer to a 9×13 pan and cover with a sheet of puff pastry.   Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or more if you want that crispy crust.  Then let it rest for 10 minutes.

DSC_2028

Admittedly, it’s not photogenic.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

