RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again:  I hate when my job gets in the way of my cooking.  I spent about 9 hours in the car last week over a two-day period.  I’m really sorry if you have to do this on a regular basis.  I think I’ve finally recovered.  Fortunately I had an easy day today because the witnesses decided they didn’t want to appear.

DSC_1994

I made these Mango Coconut Striped Popsicles from Pastry Affair.  I recently saw some popsicles somewhere on the Inter Webs (Jake will be so glad I said it that way) that used mango (one of my favorites these days) and coconut milk (a can of which I have leftover in the fridge), but I don’t think these were the ones I saw.  I think I’m going to stop right there and apologize for not making any sense.

Tuesday:   I finally made it to the nail salon today for a much awaited pedicure.  I took my new snazzy clutch that I got from Butter.  It was only $18 and I convinced myself that I could use it as a clutch for going out.   The reality is that my cell phone doesn’t even fit inside.  It does hold the base, the color, and the top coat, and now I don’t have to rummage through my purse.

DSC_2041

I also made from this 2-Ingredient Pineapple Bliss Cake from Hungry Girl.  It’s just 1.75 cups of yellow cake mix and one 8-ounce can of crushed pineapple with juice.  Bake at 350 for 18 to 20 minutes.   Seriously, y’all, anyone can cook.

DSC_2015

It doesn’t look like much, but it is moist as all get-out, whatever that means.  And if you put a thin layer of Nutella “frosting” on there it becomes a divine little treat.

Wednesday:  Sometimes I just don’t know where the day goes.  I mean, I only worked until noon, and then what?  Chat on the phone, check.  Run to the grocery store, check.  Work for an hour or so on the couch, check.  Make Dark Chocolate and Marzipan Ice Cream, check.

DSC_2083

I wasn’t too sure about the ice cream.  There’s five egg yolks in there.  I’m no ice cream expert, but I’ve made quite a few amazing ice creams without them, so I’m beginning to wonder if they’re really necessary.  Any doubts I had were assuaged by the incredible fudge ripple sauce.  I think this must be Hershey’s top-secret chocolate sauce recipe.  Remember the one in the can?  Do they still make that?

Thursday :   Marnie and I had a nice little lunch at Café Intermezzo.  I guess technically we both had breakfast since there were eggs and croissants involved.   I hope you’re lucky enough to be able to have a 3-hour lunch with your BFF once in a while.

Friday:  I may have had to work today, but I was still able to make these awesome Philly Cheesesteaks from Cooking Light’s Crave!

DSC_2030

The cheese sauce was perfectly creamy and very flavorful, but even I had to add an extra slice of provolone on there.

Saturday:  Can you believe I had a deposition this morning?  Of course it was a doctor.  I desperately needed a drink after. . . of course it was a foreign doctor.

Drink of the Week:  The Royal Warrant.

DSC_2043

I wish I could say that this was in honor of the royal baby, but it was actually from Garden & Gun.  Shake an egg white with 3/4 ounces lemon juice, 3/4 ounces honey, and 2 ounces of gin.

Sunday:  I had a lot of work today but I had enough energy left to make this Whole-Wheat Bread from Williams-Sonoma’s Bread.

DSC_2065

Oh, yeah, I will be eating toast and jam every morning this week with my latte.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

