RSS Feed

Lime Angel Food Cake

Posted on

I’m sorry to say that this cake didn’t blow my skirt up.  You know what I mean?

DSC_1980

It’s a shame, because I really want to love everything from Baked Elements.

DSC_1974

It started off okay:  you put the lime in the coconut — I mean, you put the lime in the egg whites.  Then there’s a lot of whipping going on.  I kind of wish the recipe would have seen fit to give a time estimate.  Getting to the stiff-peaks stage took a lot longer than I would have thought.  It has been about ten years since I made an angel food cake, so my memory was a little clouded.

DSC_1975

Speaking of guidance, here’s a direct quote:  Immediately invert the pan onto a work surface if the pan has feet, or place the center of the tube pan onto the neck of a bottle or metal funnel, and cool the cake completely.

I’m not sure what a pan with feet looks like, but I’m almost positive mine doesn’t have them.  I’m also not sure why you can’t just cool it on a wire rack like every other cake in the world.

End result:  if you choose Option B, be careful.  Don’t touch it while it’s hot or it could break all over your counter.  Maybe the trick is not to use an empty bottle.

DSC_1976

I really did want to love it.  There’s tequila in the glaze for crying out loud.

DSC_1984

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

