RSS Feed

Potato-Peanut Cakes

Posted on

I’m going to try to really focus and tell you about these little patties, but the truth is the memory of the prep is a little fuzzy, thanks to the sangria and the presence of my Lovely Assistant, Lily.  Not to mention I’m very distracted by the coverage of The Royal Baby.

DSC_1973

This recipe is from Cooking Light’s Annual Recipes 2003.  I always find it amazing that I can keep a piece of paper around for ten years.  Even though I do have this book, I actually pulled the recipe out of the July 2012 issue of the magazine.

You should know that there’s a very important word missing from the title.

DSC_1970

It’s also missing from this picture:  bacon.  First you crisp up a slice of bacon and then you sauté all of the above in the grease.

Here’s the best part — and I never thought it would work, but you cook the whole potato for 15 minutes, and then you shred it with a cheese grater.  I really was surprised that the whole potato cooked so well.  Seriously, it shredded like butter.  It really makes me wonder why I spent all of my teenage years cutting up the potatoes for my mom to make mashed.

DSC_1971

Toss in the peanuts and some scallions, and an egg to keep it all together.  Next time I make these I will actually form them into nice little patties.  I used the ice cream scoop and the second batch kind of fell apart a little.

You should also know that these are only 110 calories each.   That’s a Happy Ending.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

