RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  I love a Monday with no job.  Unfortunately I could not get motivated to leave the house.  I guess we could consider that a good thing since I had time to make Challah bread.

DSC_1962

This was my first time making Challah.  I got the recipe from Williams-Sonoma’s Bread.  The shape didn’t turn out quite right, but the taste is spot on.

Tuesday:  The bumpies reared their ugly head on my Phoebe’s noggin this morning.  Soon we’ll be taking a trip to the doggie dermatologist.

My job went until 1:00 today and it was torture.  The witness pretty much had a clown car full of things he claims were stolen.  I guess it’s a good thing I’m not the claims adjuster.

I made this yummy Ham Salad with Artichoke Hearts.  I saw the recipe in the Whole Foods flyer, which I now realize is called The Whole Deal.  How cute is that?

DSC_1963

I needed something to go on my Challah bread.  And there are pickles in there too.

Wednesday:  I love an afternoon job.  There’s nothing like being able to sleep in without the alarm on a weekday.  Then I had plenty of time to make Coconut Patty Cake Pops.

DSC_1967

I guess technically they’re cake balls since I didn’t use a stick.  I’m sure Hungry Girl wouldn’t object.

Thursday:  Well, I had to get up early, but we were done by noon, so I guess I can’t complain . . . this time.

DSC_1969

I made Cast-Iron Burgers for dinner.  Who needs a grill?  Especially when you have Cooking Light’s Crave!  Caramelized onions and bacon?  Yes, please.

Friday:  Get this, guys, I was forced to go to the mall today.  Can you believe the bad luck?   Jake took the MARTA up from the airport and I met him there, since I was already going to be in Buckhead for my hair appointment.

I managed to score this pie plate from Anthropologie.  I guess I am obligated to make some pie in the near future.  Stay tuned.

DSC_1991

I also snagged some gladioli from Whole Foods.  They were 2 for $6 and there were a lot of stems in each bunch.

DSC_1986

These are definitely up there in my top five favorite flowers.  When I was a kid my brother worked at a florist and they had gladioli fields; so he used to bring them home a lot.

My friend Lily came over for an impromptu happy hour.  I should say several happy hours; she stayed until 11:00 p.m.  I made the Drink of the Week:  Summer Fruit Sangria.

DSC_1989

Just soak two cut-up peaches and one cup of sliced strawberries with 1/2 cup of brandy and 1/4 cup of sugar in the fridge for an hour.   Then add a bottle of Merlot and chill for two more hours.  I found the recipe in The Fresh Market’s Cooking in Season.  I know that sangria is traditionally served in a wine glass, but I found these little glasses on sale at Williams-Sonoma, so I had to use them.   btw – if your colorist who seems to know everything tries to tell you that you need to chill it overnight don’t listen to him.

Saturday:  Jake and I went to dinner with Marnie and her husband.   We met at the Union restaurant in Alpharetta.   If you’re near there you should check it out.  The Web site doesn’t do it justice because the place is adorable.  I had the tomato bisque (highly recommended) and the scallops (I brought home leftovers) and unfortunately there is no photographic evidence because I didn’t stop talking/feeding my face long enough to take any.  Sorry about that.

Sunday:  I made Peach French Toast Sandwiches for brunch today.

DSC_1988

Lucky for me I had some Challah bread left.  This recipe is from Kelly Alexander’s Peaches.  It’s simply two peaches simmered with butter, brown sugar, and a touch of sour cream.  I actually used Greek yogurt because I had it on hand.  The filling was great, but next time I will just use it as a topping.  I would rather have both sides of my French Toast crispy.  Call me crazy.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

