RSS Feed

Steak with Mushroom Sauce

Posted on

Holy garlic, Batman.

DSC_1946

4 cloves for the steak, 4 cloves for the mushrooms, and 2 more for the potatoes.  I’m just saying, that’s a lot of chopping, but worth it of course.

This recipe is from Christine Avanti.   You can’t tell by looking at it that it’s low-cal, can you?

DSC_1947

And you should know that the mushrooms have some Chardonnay in them.  Any recipe that’s good for you and includes an excuse to open a bottle of wine is a win-win in my book.

DSC_1948

I must confess that I didn’t follow CA’s directions for putting the steak in the broiler.  I just put it in a cast iron skillet for fourish minutes each side.   Speaking of the steak, I think a big way this recipe stays under 400 calories is the fact that it’s only a 3-ounce portion.  I bought two precut portions at Whole Foods and by the time I trimmed them down I had four ounces left that I tossed into a stir fry.    I hope y’all have a kitchen scale.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

