Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:   I made these Peanut Butter Nanaimo Bars to take to the office today to celebrate my three-year anniversary.

DSC_1954

I saw these on Brown Eyed Baker and I had to have them.   I will note that the recipe said to cut the 9×13 pan into 24 bars.  I actually cut them into 36, and when I got to the office my manager cut those in half because they were so rich she didn’t want people getting lethargic, i.e., slowing them down.  I’ve been eating a sliver every day since then and highly recommend you give them a try.

Tuesday:  I didn’t have to work until 5:00 p.m. today, so I made a nice little brunch:  Bacon-Banana Pancakes with Buttery Bourbon Maple Syrup.

DSC_1904

These are basically pancakes that you put a little bacon on after you pour the batter on the griddle.  Seriously?  Is this the most amazing idea?  Where has it been all my life?  Actually, I’ve seen it done with fruit, but I plan to try it with sausage some day.

Wednesday:  Another easy day; 3:00 to 5:00.  I can’t complain.  I had time to make these Steamed Green Beans with Tomato-Garlic Vinaigrette from Cooking Light’s The Food Lover’s Healthy Habits Cookbook.  Man, that is a mouthful.

DSC_1021

This picture was actually taken when I made these back in February for Jake; they totally passed his test.  This week I made them with beans from my garden and it was a much smaller serving.

I also finished reading The Things I Do For You by Mary Carter.  Her books are always so much fun.  This one left me wanting more, which made me realize that I just didn’t want it to end.

Thursday:  I  made these Red, White and ‘Ol Blue treats for Phoebe from The Organic Dog Biscuit Cookbook.  They have strawberries, and blueberries, and cinnamon in them and smell way better than they look.   Full disclosure:   by Saturday we were at the vet with an allergic reaction.  I’m not convinced it’s the treats, but, as the vet said, it’s suspicious.  She’s been off her amazing homemade diet since January and in the last few weeks I’ve incorporated a few different treats.   Live and learn.

DSC_1959

btw – my witness today was a female plumber.  I was very impressed.   She started as a file clerk and worked her way up.  She now owns the firm with 42 employees.

Friday:   I had to work again today!  It was a pretty easy doctor, which is unusual,  but it lasted until 3:00 p.m.  I tossed together this little shrimp and pasta with pesto and an heirloom tomato.  The only thing missing is some toasted pine nuts.

DSC_1936

Saturday:  Marnie came over for lunch today!  I sent her packing with some leftovers:

DSC_1944

I am so proud of my retro Tupperware.  I feel like my Gramma.  You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see what’s inside.

That evening I went for the old appetizer for dinner:  Blueberry Chutney over Brie from the Fresh Market’s Cooking in Season.  Yeah,  I’ve looked at it 100 times and finally had to buy it.  I’m a sucker for a seasonal cookbook.  What can I say?

DSC_1909

Sunday:  I made this Puffed Peach Omelet from Kelly Alexander’s Peaches.

DSC_1953

I’m here to tell you that this picture doesn’t do it justice.  In my opinion, it’s more like a soufflé.  Just one peach and a couple of eggs, so good.

Today was my favorite kind of Sunday:  I did some work and some laundry and treated myself to a second glass of wine, which means Phoebe got a second treat, hypoallergenic, of course.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a comment