RSS Feed

Simple Bolognese

Posted on

Move along.  Nothing to see here.

DSC_1853

This is just an ordinary dish of pasta.  Nothing fancy in this sauce.

Jake asked me what was for dinner tonight.  I told him spaghetti Bolognese.  He said, have we had that before?  That Italian word threw him.  I informed him that it’s just meat sauce.

Actually, this is one of those standard 20 meals that my mom made throughout my childhood.  Of course in today’s version I didn’t have to sit at the table forever and pick out all the onions.   Disclosure:  I’m all for that style of parenting.

DSC_1849

Anyway, back to the sauce.  I’m pretty sure my mother’s version didn’t have celery in it.  Again, not criticizing, just saying.

DSC_1852

I love this whole stir-the-cheese-right-into-the-pot thing going on here.   As a kid we used American cheese singles and it still sounds good to me.

DSC_1851

Is it wrong that I used a Ritz cracker to do my taste test?  If so, it’s probably a big deal that I actually did it twice so I could get the picture.

DSC_1855

This recipe is from Giada and Everyday Italian and it doesn’t disappoint.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

