RSS Feed

Watermelon Margarita

Posted on

I told you Brian Boitano would be back around these parts soon.

DSC_1788

No secret ingredients here.  Puree and sieve four cups of watermelon mixed with 2 tablespoons of sugar.   Add it to a pitcher and mix with the juice of two limes, 8 ounces of tequila, and 4 ounces of triple sec.  Done and done.

DSC_1790

Don’t forget to dip the rim into a mix of  salt and chili powder.   Three tablespoons of salt and one teaspoon of chili powder and you’ll have plenty left.  As much as I’m not a fan of spice, this was the perfect touch.

Of course I really didn’t have to tell you any of that, because here’s the recipe.

What I should tell you is that I’ve been keeping a secret.  Hard to believe, I know.  It’s not that juicy, but here it is:  we’ve been having a drink of the week around here for a few months now.  It’s become a big deal and one of us (that would be my husband, in case there’s any doubt) has been known to prance around the house singing “drink of the week” to the tune of that song about the 1st of the month.  Maybe prance is a harsh word.  Clearly I’m not hip to the music scene since I don’t know the name of that song or who sings it.

btw – I should tell you that four cups of watermelon is about half of your average-sized seedless, and confess that I promptly ate the other half during prep.

DSC_1782

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. I saw this and said, YESSS!! Haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

