RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  Well, I started off with no job today.  By 10:30 I had a 1:00.  At 1:00 I was informed that the start time was actually 2:00 because the attorneys were calling in from Iowa, which is a different time zone.   My witness happened to be an attorney too, a tax attorney.  When was the last time you spent an hour talking to a tax attorney?

I was home by 4:00 and enjoying a coffee and an HG cupcake on the couch by 5:00.  At 5:30 the office called to send me 30 minutes away where the parties were already waiting for a reporter.  We’re pretty much super heroes.  One day I swear I’m going to get a cape.  Anyway, the attorneys didn’t want to risk that I would be in traffic for 45 minutes, so they decided to do the deposition over the phone.  Lucky me.  Best part:  one of the witnesses was a famous basketball player.  Sorry.  I can’t tell you the name.  I guess it doesn’t really count since I was in my home office and he wasn’t, but still.

Tuesday:  I didn’t have to work today.  Well, I didn’t have to leave the house, but I did have some work to do .  It didn’t last very long, so I made this Sour Cream-Blueberry Bread from Williams-Sonoma Bread.

DSC_1642

There’s a lot going on in this bread:  pecans and bananas, to name a few.  Also, I should disclose that I used Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream.  I guess that means I can say “adapted from”  and then take credit for the recipe.  Not so much.

Wednesday:  I’m always a little groggy in the morning when I walk the dog.  I make it a strict rule that we don’t leave the yard until noon.  Today I noticed little white pellets on the lawn and patio area.  I thought it was strange that if it hailed it hadn’t melted in the 73 degree weather.  But the yard is shaded until noon, so what do I know?  I’m not a meteorologist.   I even picked it up and couldn’t quite figure it out.  I also went the extra mile to google hail in Atlanta in June.   Well, when we went out again at noon it was still there.  After walking around the neighborhood I realized that the company the HOA hires to spray for weeds had been here.  Mystery solved.  I guess it’s a good thing I didn’t try to taste it.

DSC_1655

I made these Cherry-Blueberry Trifles to make myself feel better about the possible exposure to pesticide.  I got the idea from Eating Well.  They suggested using ladyfingers and topping them with almonds, but I totally improvised and used leftover amaretti cookies instead.  Toss your fruit with a little brown sugar and then layer with yogurt.

Thursday:  I had a job today at a hospital.  It was in a room that they called the library.  I was foolishly expecting a spacious classroom.  Instead I got a small conference room with an underachieving air conditioner.  Did I mention that there were ten of us in the room and a light brighter than the sun, compliments of the videographer.  I am always cold.  Right now, my feet are cold and my AC is set to 75.  I usually say to the attorneys that if I’m hot they must be REALLY hot.  It was so stifling I swear I almost started drooling.  I’m not sure what the relationship is, but I don’t usually drool during my jobs so I’m sure there’s a connection.  I swear I was one mumbled medical term away from passing out.

DSC_1658

I was exhausted by the time I got home, but I managed to make this Chilled Cherry Pasta Salad with Arugula and Bacon.  I am proud to say that the arugula was harvested from my very own garden.  I really thought the bacon would be the shining star, but it is four stars for the cherries.  You’ll never guess where I got this recipe from, so I’m just going to tell you:  Publix.  The dressing is 1/4 cup each of olive oil and white balsamic vinegar, two tablespoons of basil, 1 tablespoon of honey, and the zest of one orange.

Friday:  I had a fabulous cut and color today a Van Michael salon in Buckhead.  That pretty much took up the bulk of my day.  I did mange to pick up these cute little flowers, though.

DSC_1680

They remind me of back in the day on the farm when I used to pick wild violets for my mom.

I also made Loaded Nachos for dinner.  Cooking Light’s Crave! is my new Friday night fave.

DSC_1675

Saturday:  I was supposed to have a little soiree here at the house to celebrate our new patio, but this got in my way:

DSC_1715

Seems harmless, doesn’t he?  This is George.

DSC_1696

I like to call him G-man.  He’s my friend Marnie’s new baby and he is in the process of being housetrained and can’t go it alone for too long, so I brought dinner to her house on the lake.  It was my plan to take some scenery pictures so that I could brag about her awesome locale, but Georgie boy is way cuter than trees.

DSC_1698

I’ve been wanting to try these Cheese-Wrapped Olives since I saw them all over the Internet a few months ago.  Little did I know that I have the recipe in Gena Knox’s book Southern My Way.

DSC_1682

I also couldn’t resist this Tipsy Watermelon Salad from Virginia Willis and Bon Appetit, Y’all.  Not only is there vodka, but there’s also crème de cassis.

DSC_1709

I have a confession to make:  I can’t stop buying cherries.  The bag I have isn’t close to gone and I still pick up another one.  That’s happened twice so far.   So of course I had to make this Honey-Soaked Quinoa Salad with Cherries and Cashews from Better Homes and Gardens new book, Fresh.   There’s apricots in there too.

DSC_1710

So far everything was a success.  And then this happened:

DSC_1684

Are these the whitest baked beans you’ve ever seen?  These are Aarti Sequeira’s Root Beer Baked Beans from Food Network Magazines’s June issue.  I was tempted by the root beer, obviously, and they have ginger and garam masala too.  They’re edible, but just not amazing.

Last but not least:

DSC_1718

Lemon Icebox Pie.  OMG.  I didn’t think anything could make sweetened condensed milk taste any more amazing, but lemon juice can do it.  This is worth the price I pay for Garden & Gun.

I think this guy deserves one more shout out.

DSC_1693

Sunday:  Not much energy today, but I did manage to set up my new plant stand.

DSC_1722

And I discovered some baby ladybugs on my tomato plant!  At least I hope that’s what they are.

DSC_1721

I’m going to have some leftover pie now.  Too bad you’re not here.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

