RSS Feed

Sunday Summary

Posted on

Monday:  I didn’t have a job today, which is the perfect way to start the week.  Around noon I decided to do a little work.  Well, actually I was going to google something while watching Live with Kelly.  That’s about the time I realized the Internet was down.  After spending 40 minutes trying to mess with my laptop I realized the cable was out too.  I spent another 40 minutes or so dealing with Charter’s automated system, which didn’t help me; a female agent, who couldn’t help me and scheduled a tech appointment for 3-5; and a male agent literally in the Philippines.  At 5:00 Charter called to say the tech would be 30 minutes late.  When I called at 6:10 Charter said the tech was on the way.  When I called around 7:00, and spent 45 minutes on hold, the agent told me they weren’t coming.  No kidding.

No cable?  No problem.  I watched Victor/Victoria on DVD.  I can’t believe I’ve lived my whole life without seeing it.

Tuesday:  I had a job today that lasted an hour and there was a bowl of mini candy bars on the conference room table.   That is a win-win in my book.

The supports for my garden came today.  It’s my own little version of modern art.

DSC_1612

I also spotted a couple of itty-bitty lemons on my lemon tree.

DSC_1611

Wednesday:  I was off again today.  I managed to score this pot from Macy’s for 75 bucks.  It was on sale from $185 and I had a $20 coupon.

DSC_1603

And I made Macaroni Alfredo with Pumpkin and Kale from Better Homes and Gardens’ Eat Well Lose Weight magazine.

DSC_1601

Thursday:  I was off again today!  But this time it’s because I had a dentist appointment, not fun.

The frame I ordered from Amazon came today.  For a year now I’ve been staring at two big screws in the wall above my mantle.  I’ve been wanting to get some real art, but it’s just not in the budget.  Recently I watched the African Queen on Netflix.  I remember seeing it as a kid on a CBS matinée and loving it.   Katherine Hepburn’s character is tenacious and headstrong and I’m convinced she influenced me.  When I saw the poster for 9 bucks on Amazon I thought it was the perfect solution.  Of course Michael’s doesn’t carry poster frames so I had to place one more order.

DSC_1606

I made a Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake Mug from Lisa Lillien’s new book:  Hungry Girl 200 Under 200 Just Desserts.  Man, that’s a mouthful.

DSC_1614

Friday:  I had a little job this morning and was home by noon.  I was feeling pretty unmotivated, but after an infusion of espresso, via my homemade latte, I managed to make some kale chips.

DSC_1621

I tossed my torn up bunch of kale with olive oil and sea salt and baked them in a 275 degree oven for 20 minutes, stirring once.  If your name happens to be Mandy and you have a dehydrator at home you should totally make some of these, and then serve them with that tofu spread.  Just saying.

DSC_1624

I also made some Snickers-licious Cupcakes from Hungry Girl’s new book.  Can you tell I’m on a little HG bender.

Saturday:  I made Cherry Cream Cheese.

DSC_1617

Just combine 1/2 cup of softened cream cheese with 1/4 cup of chopped cherries, 1.5 teaspoons of confectioners’ sugar, and a pinch of allspice.  It was my plan to put this on a bagel.  And when I say bagel I mean one of those 110 calorie bagel thins.  I’m pretty sure I haven’t had a real bagel since the ’90s.  Anyway, this was amazing on the graham cracker.  As usual, as simple as it is, I didn’t come up with it on my own.  I yanked a whole page of cherry recipes out of Eating Well’s May/June 2010 issue, so stay tuned.

I met Marnie for coffee today at Whole Foods and picked up some figs to make this Prosciutto and Fig Crostata.

DSC_1626

It tastes better than it looks.  Again, so simple, and not my idea.  I pulled it out of Country Living.  It’s just a Pillsbury pie crust with a layer of cream cheese and then topped with a mixture of figs pureed with lemon juice, garlic, salt, and thyme.  Add a layer of prosciutto and bake at 425 for 15 minutes.

I feel the need to report that both Marnie and I had the Honeyed Latte at WF.  I am hooked.

Sunday:  Last but not least, I made Brandied Cherries today.

DSC_1630

Somewhere along the way I picked up Edible DIY by Lucy Baker.  So far I’ve made Spicy Marinated Artichokes and Lemon Salt with Fennel and Red Pepper Flakes.  Both of those were a hit, but the cherries have to be refrigerated for a week before I can deliver a verdict.  For the record, I have no idea what I’m going to do with all of these brandied cherries, but LB says you can drink the brandy afterwards, so at least that’s covered.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

