RSS Feed

Potluck Chicken Tetrazzini

Posted on

Warning:  Your non-vegetable-loving husband (or significant other, or kid if you chose that route) may eat asparagus willingly when you tuck it in with noodles  and chicken with a creamy base and then top it with sourdough bread.

DSC_1524

This recipe is from Better Homes and Gardens circa May 2007.  It was well worth the wait.

DSC_1521

You know I love some color.  I refrained from using the picture of the pile of asparagus and the three whole peppers.

DSC_1519

The recipe actually called for red and/or yellow peppers, but I had to go crazy and throw in the orange.   Life on the wild side, you know.

DSC_1520

Chicken a la king, anyone?

DSC_1525

Best thing about this concoction:  282 calories per serving.

In other news:  One of the many reasons I consider my charmed life charmed is my ability to travel.  Maybe you’ve noticed I’ve been sitting still for a while.  Well, the biggest obstacle has been because in the last few months we’ve been turning our backyard into an oasis.  And when I say we, I mean paying a landscape company.

Way back in January this was it:

DSC_0958

After a lot of steps, including tree removal, this is it:

942597_10201376510198560_568342641_n[1]

I planted the garden patch myself, though.

945061_10201376511158584_1263468324_n[1]

And on the back deck I have all of my herbs.  Don’t worry, I replaced that one white pot in the middle.  I also have four big pots of strawberries that I haven’t taken a picture of yet.  As of today I am waging war on the squirrels, but that’s a story for another day.

DSC_1516

In case you’re wondering, the white picket fence is to keep out the bunnies.  I’m afraid there may be some blood shed by the end of the summer.

DSC_1478

Even though I haven’t gotten on a plane in six months or more I have been quite busy being Farmer Jane.   As my wise friend Marnie said, it isn’t easy working the land.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

