RSS Feed

Bruschetta with Tofu Spread

Posted on

And Summer Vegetables.

DSC_1504

Hands down, the best tofu dish I’ve ever had.

DSC_1500

And of course it was so easy.  Make sure you get as much moisture out of that tofu as possible.  Put it on a plate lined with paper towels and cover with another paper towel and another plate.  Then put some weight on it and leave it be for an hour or so.  I was amazed by how soaked those Bounty towels were.

DSC_1512

The rest is lemon juice, parsley, mustard, garlic powder, and olive oil.

DSC_1511

You should know that I finally popped my pickling cherry . . . with onions of all things.  I guess some day I’ll have to admit that I actually like onions.

DSC_1514

It was surprisingly easy too.  They basically sit in a bowl for a few hours with a mixture of water, vinegar, sugar, and salt that has been boiled.  Easy-peasy.

DSC_1513

This bread was awesome and hearty and only 80 calories a slice with five grams of fiber.  Fiber is king you know.

DSC_1515

I highly recommend that you use some fresh basil from your own little herboporium.  Yeah, I just made that word up.

DSC_1505

Now is the time that I tell you where I got this lovely recipe from, because y’all know I didn’t come up with it myself.  No doubt.  I cannot believe I’m going to admit it, but I actually bought Sheryl Crow’s cookbook.  That’s right.  If It Makes You Healthy.  It was 5.99 on the bargain rack; don’t judge me.  Besides, she had help, of course, from Chuck White, who is a professionally trained chef.

DSC_1510

Also, none of that matters.  What really matters is that the recipes are arranged in the book by season, which I love.  I think every cookbook should be set up that way.   If this bruschetta is any indication of what’s to come, then I got a bargain; if not, I already got my money’s worth.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

