RSS Feed

My Mother’s Mayo Cake

Posted on

With Cream Cheese Frosting.

DSC_1405

And this time it really is MY mother’s recipe.  Well, surely she got it from some magazine or the back of the Hellman’s jar a million years ago.

DSC_1390

It starts out very basically:  sugar, mayo, and cocoa powder.  My mother insists that you can only use Hellman’s.

DSC_1391

Isn’t that a beautiful color?  That’s what six heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder will do.  Don’t tell my mom, but I actually used special dark this time.  She doesn’t like change.   See the above Hellman’s remark.

DSC_1395

Add the remaining ingredients and bake away.

DSC_1397

I actually let this cool overnight and made my frosting the next morning.  Let me tell you about this frosting:  It’s your basic cream cheese frosting, or so I thought.  I didn’t have a measurement for the vanilla.  I assumed it would be one teaspoon, but I did a little googling.  It turns out most of the recipes I found had a cup or maybe two of powdered sugar.  Well, my mom doesn’t mess around and this version has four cups.

Get your glass of milk ready.

DSC_1408

For the cake:

1.5 cups granulated sugar

6 heaping TB cocoa powder

1.5 cups mayonnaise

3 cups AP flour

3 tsp baking soda

3 tsp vanilla

1.5 cups water

Combine sugar, mayo, and cocoa powder.  Add flour, baking soda, vanilla, and water.  Grease and flour a 9×13 pan and bake for 30 minutes at 350.

For the frosting:

4 cups powdered sugar

8 ounces softened cream cheese

1 stick of butter

1 tsp vanilla

Mix together and frost.

This cake tastes amazing at room temperature.  However, I am a huge fan of the refrigerated version.  Not to mention there’s that big debate about keeping cream cheese cold and all.

I should mention that we had this for Jake’s birthday!  Sorry I didn’t get a picture with all of the candles.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Sean Breslin

    Very cool…looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

