RSS Feed

Verdure Al Forno

Posted on

I don’t speak Italian, so I hope I didn’t just swear at you or something.  Giada says that it means vegetables in the oven, even though this was only zucchini in the oven.

DSC_1367

I’m sorry to say that I have a little bone to pick with GDL on this recipe.  Isn’t it ironic?   This is a vegetable dish.

DSC_1358

It all starts out innocently enough, but I soon realized something was off.   Firstly, the recipe calls for about five medium zuchinnis or 1.5 pounds.  Now, I know size is relative, but it took about 2 pounds.  Then the instructions say to cut them one inch thick.  Hello.  You know I have a ruler.  Well, I’m here to tell you that there’s no way that three layers, i.e., three inches will fit in an 8×8 pan.   Not to mention you’d need more than that 2 pounds for sure.

DSC_1360

Now, I can admit that the deck was stacked against GDL due to the fact that I’ve never understood what makes someone want to smother a perfectly good zucchini in a ton of cheese.   I now know it’s because it tastes amazing.   You’re looking at a little fontina and mozzarella, soon to be followed by Pecorino Romano.

DSC_1362

A little bit of bread crumbs won’t hurt a bit either.

DSC_1375

Even though I’m willing to accept the cheese, not to mention the heavy cream, I still am not pleased with GDL that these one-inch chunks didn’t cook all the way through.

DSC_1376

Given this beauteous cheese I’m willing to overlook the whole thing.

Well, it seems someone has seen the error of their ways.  I was following the recipe in Everyday Italian, but out of the kindness of my heart I got the link from Food Network for y’all and that version says 1/4-inch slices.  Honestly, I think 1/2 inch would be okay too.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

