RSS Feed

Big Beef Burgers

Posted on

With Crunchy Sour Cream Onion Rings.

DSC_1359

I know you don’t always need such a big close-up, but I’m usually trying to keep you from seeing  my messy kitchen.

Well, obviously there was very little health food to be found in my kitchen this weekend.

DSC_1357

This is a Rachael Ray recipe.  Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think she’s known for low-cal.  In fact, I used to get her magazine when it first came out, before they changed the format to hard-to-read black backgrounds and such.  I remember folks would write in asking for nutrition info and the response would be along the lines of buy low-fat cheese, or something like that.

Anywho — I never say that, but it seems to fit here — I canceled my subscription, but I hung on to a few issues.  When I say a few I mean the first two or three years’ worth.  When I finally went through them and ripped out my faves I realized that the one thing in every issue that I wanted to try was the burger of the month.

Well, short story long, RR has come out with The Book of Burger.  Enough said.

DSC_1351

RR doesn’t call for it, but I am a firm believer in everything tastes better on toast.  And, let’s be honest, even more so when it’s slathered in butter before it hits the griddle.

DSC_1356

I really have to say that an 8-ounce burger is just too much.  If the rest of the recipes in this book call for it I’m going to have to downsize.  What’s inside you ask?  Just beef and Worcestershire sauce.  And in RR style, a drizzle of EVOO on top.  Personally, I consider that old-school.

DSC_1352

Usually, at a restaurant, lettuce is the first thing I pull off of my sandwich.   In this case a little shredded iceberg is the perfect fit.

DSC_1355

At this point, just by looking at these, you know this is serious.  RR says to cut these babies an inch thick.  That’s a little too much onion for me.

DSC_1354

Next up:  Red Ranch Dressing.  Pretty much buttermilk, sour cream, and ketchup with a few Ranch-like ingredients thrown in.  Yes, that’s debris from dipping my test onion rings.

DSC_1362

Needless to say, it was a good day.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

