RSS Feed

Spaghetti Sauce with Pork Ribs and Meatballs

Posted on

If I were to accept an award for this one I would have to thank Elizabeth Bard’s Grandma Elsie.  You know, I’m starting to think that it would be great to be part of EB’s family.

DSC_1348

It all starts off with my favorite:  onions.   I know it’s hard to hear the sarcasm over the Internet, so you should know that onions have become an acquired taste for me over the years.  As I child I spent many extra hours at the table picking them out of my dinner.

DSC_1338

Then add some seared country-style pork ribs.

DSC_1339

As if that wasn’t enough meat, add some ground beef with dried parsley.

DSC_1340

Then add all the tomatoes:  crushed, sauce, and paste.

DSC_1341

About now is when you realize that you’ll need a bigger pot.  For the moment, just remember to add some herbs:  bay leaves, Italian seasoning, basil, oregano.   And don’t forget the sugar.

DSC_1342

Then it’s time to move on to the meatballs.

DSC_1344

Talk about your green eggs.  Move along.  Nothing to see here but ground beef, bread crumbs, and a couple of eggs with parsley, oregano, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and onion flakes.  Onion flakes used to be a staple for me.

Also, I don’t want to give away any Lunch in Paris secrets, but you sprinkle this concoction with ice water . . . it’s supposed to make them fluffy.

Obviously I was overwrought by the meatball-rolling, because this is where the photography ceases.

DSC_1349

The sauce simmers for two hours, which gives you plenty of time to make the meatballs and brown them.  At that point I had to transfer some sauce and half the ribs to another pot and then I added some meatballs to each one and they simmered for another 30 to 45 minutes.  Just FYI – the first pot was an 8-quart.  Needless to say, we will be eating a lot of leftovers around here.  I see some meatball sandwiches in my future.

Again, the photography ceased here.  I would love to show you the inside of the meatballs or how tender the pork was, but after three hours of waiting I was a little bit hungry.  Especially since, as usual, I didn’t read the recipe and thought it would be only two hours.  Oops.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

