RSS Feed

Classic Italian Lasagna

Posted on

What’s a girl supposed to do with 1.5 pounds of ricotta cheese?

DSC_1170

On another note, I’m always telling my husband that he just doesn’t deserve me.  Just look at that cheese.

DSC_1164

This recipe is from Giada’s Everyday Italian.  I made her Béchamel Sauce too.  Even though I have an aversion to thickening things, it turned out to be a pretty easy sauce.

DSC_1155

That’s the perfect thickness test, so they say.

DSC_1156

The perfect marriage.  Just like chocolate and peanut butter.

DSC_1160

Don’t worry.  It’s not thousand island dressing, just marinara and béchamel.

DSC_1162

This was the most amazing, yet average, lasagna I’ve ever made.  I say average because there’s really nothing out of the ordinary.  No sausage, just beef and that old ordinary box of frozen spinach.

But it starts out with the usual sauce on the bottom and then noodles.  Then ALL of the ricotta and top with spinach.  Then noodles again and ALL the ground beef with more sauce and then a little mozzarella. Lastly, more noodle and a lot more mozzarella with some parmesan.

DSC_1163

Every other lasagna I have ever made mixed the ricotta and spinach together and then split up the layers a couple of times.  Why the heck do you need all that extra work?

DSC_1171

Look at the crispy edge.  In the past the lasagnas I’ve made have been covered in foil and the uncovered for the last few minutes.  This one is uncovered for the whole 45 minutes at 375.

DSC_1172

Sorry.  This is a much better picture.

DSC_1174

I had to use the bird paper because the second this came out of the oven I just wanted to sing.

DSC_1177

I just could not stop taking pictures.

DSC_1178

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

