RSS Feed

Ricotta

Posted on

I had no idea that ricotta cheese was so unphotogenic.  I’m not so sure why it looks yellowish in this picture.  Perhaps it’s the flash reflecting off the curd.

DSC_1131

I also had no idea how easy it is to make.  Still, I don’t know that I’ll be repeating this process anytime soon.  This recipe is from Jennifer Reese and Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.  She seems to be of the opinion that it’s worth making and that the hassle is minimal.  I agree with her on that, but I’m not sure the cost comparison is worth it.  I’m sure it’s because I used organic milk and it was a little pricey.

Here’s what you need:  one gallon of milk and 3/4 cup distilled white vinegar.  JR gives a few other options, but she says there’s not much of a difference in the results.  Though, I can’t quite imagine how the taste of 6 tablespoons of lemon juice or a quart of buttermilk would disappear.

DSC_1133

Just in case you can’t get enough of cheese this picture is for you.

So you put your two ingredients in a big pot and slowly bring it to the brink of a boil, turn off the heat, and let it sit for 20 minutes.  Then you ladle it into a cheesecloth-lined colander for 20 minutes and you’re well on your way to any number of Italian dishes.

Apparently the whey (the liquid that’s leftover) can be used for making bagels or bread.  I am sorry to say that my whey went down the drain.  Hmm, I just realized that this is probably what Little Miss Muffet was chowing down on.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

3 responses »

  1. Well done, I use lemon juice when I make Ricotta, it does not give too much of a lemon flavour, but it does give a nice citrus note when you add herbs to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

