RSS Feed

Salsa All’Amatriciana

Posted on

I apologize in advance for the fact that this looks like Chef-Boyardee, not that there’s anything wrong with that.   In fact, I was one of those kids that was never allowed to have ravioli or beefaroni, let alone a spaghetti-o.  You realize what that means, don’t you?  That’s right.  I LOVE them today.  I even buy the value pack at Costco so that I always have them on hand.  I hope that doesn’t deflate my culinary standing with y’all.

DSC_1112

I’ve been dying to use bucatini in a recipe.  And now that I have I can’t figure out why.  Bucatini is basically thick spaghetti with a hole in the middle.   Frankly, it’s kind of hard to maneuver.  Truth be told:  I am never graceful when I eat long pasta.  For reals.  I only will order penne in a restaurant.  It’s not pretty.   Jake took a vow; he has to tolerate it.

DSC_1114

You can almost see one peeking out from under that onion.

Enough about that.  The actual star of the show is the sauce.  According to Giada, this is Rome’s most famous pasta sauce.   It’s pretty much tomato sauce with pancetta in it.

DSC_1109

Isn’t it nice when your ingredients play well together?

This came out of GDL’s Everyday Italian.  Yes, it’s true.  I am still slowly working my way through it.  This is the same recipe that I found online, but the one in the book says 28 ounces of tomato puree.  I’ll leave that choice between you and Giada.

DSC_1116

What’s the best part about this sauce that I will be repeating in the future?  Romano cheese is actually mixed in so it gives it a nice thickness and creaminess.   Where has that been all my life?

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

