RSS Feed

Almond Pull-Aparts

Posted on

Am I the only one who doesn’t know what a pull-apart is?

DSC_1094

Unfortunately this picture isn’t going to help.

I’ve been calling them almond cinnamon rolls all weekend, but there isn’t any cinnamon in there.  In fact, no actual almonds were harmed in the preparation of this dish.  Well, at least not in my kitchen.  All the lovely almond flavor and aroma comes from almond paste, almond extract, and even some almond flour.

DSC_1095

This recipe was from Baking by Flavor by Lisa Yockelson and it’s three and a half pages long.

The most important thing I learned from this baking adventure?

DSC_1090

When LY says to use a 15x12x2 inch pan you should listen.

DSC_1100

Even though I couldn’t actually pull them apart and I had to cut them out of the pan they were worth all the trouble.

DSC_1101

They definitely were not all the same size.  This one looks like a little chair, doesn’t it?

DSC_1086

This is where my trouble began.  Inside there is a cream filling and a paste filling.  In my opinion, that’s one filling too many.   Don’t get me wrong, the flavor is incredible, but there just isn’t enough room in there.

DSC_1087

Needless to say, they completely fell apart and a lot of the filling came out.  I’m not sure that the correct pan size would have helped me with that.

DSC_1088

It looks much better once you put the crumb topping on it.

Overall, I’m looking forward to the next recipe from Baking by Flavor.  I promise I’m going to read the fine print, though.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

