RSS Feed

Coconut Curry Sea Bass

Posted on

Over Red Lentils.

DSC_1076

Except they’re not really red, are they?

DSC_1074

They used to be close to red.  Not only did they fade, but they got a little mushy.

DSC_1068

Let’s focus on the positive, though.

DSC_1069

Really pretty colors.

DSC_1070

And about 85 feet of banana leaves.  Of course I had no idea what I was getting into.   I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t a bag with enough leaves to hold me over until the end of time.

DSC_1071

Apparently giving your sea bass a little sauna inside of said leaves is the thing to do nowadays.  Personally, I wasn’t impressed.

DSC_1073

It seems that I’m pretty inept when it comes to cutting, wrapping, and tying banana leaves.  It turned out that it’s a good thing that I have a lifetime supply.

DSC_1075

This recipe is from Skinny Chicks Don’t Eat Salads.   Christine Avanti suggests cutting off the edges of the leaves to tie up your little bundle of joy.  In fact, she also says that you can use string if you don’t have leaves, but kind of neglects to mention what to use instead of the leaf itself.   I guess parchment paper is the obvious answer, but I was living large.

DSC_1079

The sea bass was cooked perfectly and the colors were beautiful.  As far as the banana leaf process goes, I was unimpressed.  I didn’t notice any extra flavor.   I guess I’ll be using banana leaf placements until the end of the summer.

DSC_1078

Can someone please remind me that even if you slice peppers paper-thin with a mandolin they will still be crunchy after 20 minutes inside a banana leaf.   I’m just saying.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

