RSS Feed

Salted Peanut Butter Cake Balls

Posted on

I really wish someone would write a whole cookbook on things that you can do with salted peanut butter.

DSC_0992

They totally remind me of buckeyes!

I actually feel a little bit guilty about these.  My friend Avery gave me a cake ball baker two years ago for Christmas.  I generally don’t like to jump into the latest trend, but I do get a birthday cake pop at Starbucks every once in a while.   Needless to say, said baker is still in the box and sitting in the basement.

DSC_0990

Then I stumbled upon a little book simply called Cake Balls by Robin Ankeny and Charlotte Lyon.  It turns out you pretty much just bake a cake, crumble it, mix with some frosting, roll it into balls, and voila.  I realize I’m probably the last person on the planet to learn this.

DSC_0993

The point is that the cake ball maker is still collecting dust.   Please, don’t tell Avery.   She just had twin girls three weeks ago, so she won’t have time to read this blog for another 18 years.  Did I mention she already has a two-year-old daughter?

DSC_0999

Cake balls were really just an excuse to use these cutie little wrappers.

DSC_0998

The book describes cake balls as amazingly delicious bite-size treats.  I couldn’t have said it better myself.  And here’s a secret:  I used a boxed mix and a can of frosting.  The book contains recipes from scratch, which I am usually a stickler for.  I figured if I was going to spend time scooping, rolling, and dipping, then I deserved a shortcut.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

