RSS Feed

Happy Trail Mix Oatmeal

Posted on

How can you say no to oatmeal with chocolate and peanut butter?

DSC_1017

There’s some almonds and raisins in there too.

DSC_1018

This is from Hungry Girl to the Max and it comes in at 304 calories.  It’s actually made with old-fashioned oats and almond milk.  Well, it was supposed to be vanilla almond milk, but that’s not what I had in my cupboard.  BTW – one teaspoon of chips, whether they be chocolate or peanut butter, go a long way.  HG actually recommends mini chips and/or chopped, but I think they melt at just the right pace when they’re big.

I had this fabulous concoction for lunch today.  I’ve been trying to watch the calories, which translates into eating Fiber One every morning.  However, this morning I had to treat myself to a latte and some toast with Biscoff spread.  Um, yeah, I licked the plate.  That’s right, I have jumped on the Speculoos bandwagon.  I’m a little late to the party but I am still going to shout from the rooftops about my support for that yumminess.

In between my two breakfasts today I managed to watch three hours worth of documentary about the Queen.  Honestly, I could have watched for six.  Bring it on, PBS.

Speaking of documentaries, last night I watched Grey Gardens, the Barrymore/Lange movie, not the documentary by the same name.  It was fascinating and based on a true story.  I do find it a little surprising that no one named the mental disorder that these two Ediths obviously had.

Isn’t Edith/Edie the cutest name, though.  In high school it was the nickname of my very good friend Amy.  I think a teacher gave it to her because she laughed like Edith on All in the Family.  Hmm, it might have been our boss at the ice cream place where we worked.  Ice cream sounds good, doesn’t it?

Recently I read Jenny Lawson’s book.  I think some of her rambling may have rubbed off on me.  She is overwhelmingly hilarious.  Google her now.  Thanks to my friend Marnie for sending her my way.

Okay.  I’m done now.  Almost time for Downton Abbey.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

