RSS Feed

Fried Calamari

Posted on

Here’s yet another not-low-calorie recipe that was pre vacation and will not be repeated for a while . . . although I did recently purchase a new skimmer (which for some reason I thought was actually called a spider), so there may be some deep-frying again some day.

For now, we can just enjoy the beautiful pictures.

DSC_0948

Fried calamari is our go-to appetizer if it’s on the menu, no matter how it’s prepared.  Shockingly, this is the first time I have made it at home.   I have worked with squid one other time, but it wasn’t fried; however, both recipes were compliments of Giada and Everyday Italian.

DSC_0939

It’s hard to believe that these little critters fry up so nicely.

DSC_0941

After a little swim in some 350 degree oil they’re ready for my plate.

DSC_0944

Totally worth the effort.

In other news:  I had my hair colored today at Van Michael in Buckhead.  The lady that sat down after me drove all the way from Augusta for her appointment.  Uh, that’s about 2.5 hours.  I can’t really judge:  when I lived in PA I used to go six hours back to Columbus for my favorite salon.  Of course I used the excuse of visiting my family, but still.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. OMGness! This looks soooooo good! My mother in law uses corn flour just to get a slight crisp to it. But yours I absolutely LOVE! Kudos!

    Love,
    ThePoshLatinCook.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

