RSS Feed

Seven Layer Cookies

Posted on

I thought I would jump from my cake failure to a tried-and-true success.

Some of you may know these as magic bars, but I’ve been eating seven layer cookies every Christmas of my life.  They are so easy, yet every Christmas I have to call my mom to get the recipe.  A couple of years ago I did manage to write it down, but I still had to call for some clarification.  Don’t worry.  I’ve worked out the kinks.

DSC_0843

Heat the oven to 350.  While it’s warming put a stick of butter in a 9×13 pan to melt.  My mom swears that the 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs are to just be layered on top.  But I challenged the cookie gods and actually mixed them in this year.  Shockingly, the world did not end.

DSC_0844

Add two cups of coconut.

DSC_0845

And then 12 ounces of chocolate chips.

DSC_0846

Then my favorite part:  12 ounces of butterscotch chips.  I have had these once with peanut butter chips; someone else made them.  I am not one to discriminate against peanut butter, but I am a firm believer in sticking to the original.

DSC_0847

No.  I didn’t get confused and put a picture of chowder in there.  That is none other than manna from said cookie gods:  Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk.  Not one can, not two cups, but two whole cans.

Lastly, two cups of walnuts.  Although I think I bought the package that was 2-1/2 or 2-2/3 cups and used the whole thing.  No need to toast ahead of time.  Bake for 30 minutes.

DSC_0870

Heaven on a plate.

DSC_0872

I can only make these once a year.  Dec-a-dent.

DSC_0873

Isn’t that the cutest little reindeer?  This is actually an apron that my mother made for me years ago.

DSC_0874

Of course there’s a matching oven mitt and a dish towel to hang on the oven door.

1/2 cup butter

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

2 cups coconut

12 ounces chocolate chips

12 ounces butterscotch chips

2 cans of sweetened condensed milk

2 to 2-1/2 cups of chopped walnuts

Layer in this order in a 9×13 pan and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Cool completely before cutting.

btw – I used Nestle chips and couldn’t help but notice that over the years, much like other products, they have decreased in size from the original 12.  The downfall of America, I say.  If they go down any lower I may have to buy two bags next year.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

