RSS Feed

Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake

Posted on

As you may know, I usually like to make the title of my post the title of the recipe.  It keeps me from having to be creative.  Well, I just made up that title.  The actual title, as best as I can tell, is as follows:  I’ve Felt Better but it Took Longer and Cost More.

Seriously, I can’t make that up.

For tonight I guess I have to step aside as the Queen of the house.  This recipe is from Jill Conner Browne, otherwise known as a Sweet Potato Queen.  It’s been a long time since I read her books, but if I recall correctly you can find them in the humor section of the bookstore.  I also vaguely remember that she has a firm belief in the four major food groups being salt, sugar, butter, and bacon.  I might be off a little.  I think I’m supposed to have cheese in there somewhere.  You get the idea.  In case you don’t, I should tell you that this recipe comes from her book which is two-sided.  One side is the Wedding Planner and the other side is the Divorce Guide.  I totally get that.  I often say that I never believed in divorce until I got married.

Let me tell you about this cake.  I really thought I was going to get a chance to redeem myself with last week’s sheet cake mess.  This is pretty much the same idea, except it’s in a 9×13 pan, and it has coke in it, and marshmallows instead of nuts.  Well, it’s the same in the sense that you frost it while warm.

I thought I needed proof of the marshmallows.  Note to self:  next time make sure there are no spaces in between these little guys.  This is a situation where more is better.

Back to my redemption.  Maybe you can tell that it doesn’t really look like there’s any frosting.  With the sheet cake I made the frosting too thick and with this one — you guessed it — it was a little too thin.  Here’s the silver lining:  once it soaked in there and cooled, this cake had the perfect texture of a chocolate glazed crueller from Dunkin Donuts.  Jake declared this the best ever and said that whenever we go somewhere or have company I should make this cake.  I’m not sure that he realizes that that means he has to share it with other people.

It’s been awhile since I read these books, but I do remember one thing clearly that I learned from JCB.  She introduced me to the concept of the running-over teaspoon of vanilla.  The concept is that vanilla is so good you should not stop short on the pour.  I have been drinking from that well ever since.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

