RSS Feed

Ohio Buckeye Candy

Posted on

Isn’t this perfect timing?  Buckeyes are my go-to Thanksgiving treat AND the Buckeyes jut beat Michigan and are undefeated!

I have seen many variations on this recipe and I am always tempted to try them, but I stick with the original.  No pun intended since my copy is on a refrigerator magnet.  It’s the same one my mom uses and it saves me from having to dig out the book.

Mix together 3 cups of creamy peanut butter, one and 1/2 sticks of softened butter and 2 pounds of confectioner’s sugar.  Form them into small balls.  The recipe doesn’t say this, but it’s best to chill them in the fridge for a half an hour or so.  That will keep them from slipping off the toothpick when you dip it into the melted chocolate.  The magnet says 16 ounces of dipping chocolate.  I can never remember if I prefer dark or milk.  I think this time around I’ve come to the conclusion that dark is better.

You can melt your chocolate in the microwave or a double boiler.  I actually saved this old slow cooker and use it expressly for buckeye dipping because the shape of the lid is perfect for keeping a grip on the peanut butter balls.

Speaking of the peanut butter balls, I was a little too tired to do the dipping so I left them naked in the fridge overnight.  It was a joy to be greeted by the lovely aroma of peanut butter the next morning.  Why aren’t there peanut butter scented candles and air fresheners?

I hope everyone had a fabulous Thanksgiving.

I’m quite proud of my little table for two.  Especially the centerpiece.  I saw it in the Pottery Barn catalog and had to recreate it.  Here’s the things:  those little corn cobs are individual pieces.  Let’s just say I had to dig out the glue gun while the turkey was cooking.

I always hear this talk about centerpieces.   Many of them are elaborate and huge.  They’re usually beautiful, but I always wonder about those.  Growing up in our house the food was the centerpiece.

Everything came out great, except my stuffing was a little too moist.  I put it  back in the oven, spread it out on a cookie sheet, and promptly forgot about it.  That’s a recipe for charcoal.  I’ll try not to repeat that next year.

In other news:

This pumpkin had a little too much turkey, and she will do anything for a patch of sunshine.  In case you can’t tell, she climbed up onto a folding chair.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Our house loves buckeyes and now that I know how to make them I will have to try… and they are gluten free… perfect for me 🙂 Your table for Thanksgiving centerpiece looks good to me… like you food is usually the centerpiece. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

