RSS Feed

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Basil Pesto

Posted on

Well, I didn’t exactly get fresh basil from my garden, but this was still worth it.  Pesto is such an easy thing.  I have to wonder why I don’t make it more often.  This is from Giada’s Everyday Italian.  Her directions say to use a blender.  I knew I shouldn’t , but I did it anyway.  And then when the blender didn’t do the trick I had to transfer it all to a food processor.  What was Giada thinking?

I hope that’s not too much of close-up for you.  It’s just beautiful.  I love tuna steak.  Of course I never had this growing up.  I remember getting hooked on it when I lived in Florida.  Back then I used to order it well done.  All of those servers should have warned me on what I was missing out on.

Two minutes on each side and rest for five = perfect.

For those of you unfamiliar with pesto and reluctant to glop some green goop on your tuna (or your pasta, which I suggest) I thought I should point out that this is what I know as the traditional version.  It’s basil, toasted pine nuts, garlic, olive oil, and parmesan.  I like my parm a little chunky.   There are many variations on the nuts and the greens.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. It looks like something from a fancy restaurant, I would never think to make something like this but it looks so tasty and simple.

    Reply
  2. Tuna steaks are delicious when prepared right. Ok now I’m hungry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

