RSS Feed

Texas Sheet Cake

Posted on

Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy, the Baker, that is.  Yes, this is a recipe from the Joy the Baker Cookbook.

Now, here’s the thing:  I’m not from Texas, but I am very familiar with Texas Sheet Cake, and I assumed that everybody was.  I’ve come to discover that I was wrong, which I hate, of course.  So now I’m taking a poll.  Did you grow up with this beauty?

Okay.  You’re right.  It is totally not pretty.  I’d like to blame Joy, love her as I do.  But I guess I have to claim user error on this one.  This happens to be one of the few recipes of my mom’s that I have written down, and her directions are spot on with Joy’s.  I found it odd that you frost the cake immediately.  I think I went wrong in two places:  it should have cooked a little longer and my frosting should have been a little more thin.

Eh, live and learn.  It was still light and fluffy and perfectly fudgy and chocolatey = perfect.   Joy mixes pecans into her frosting, which I obediently followed.  But my mom used to just sprinkle the top with walnuts.   I think you can’t go wrong.

In other news:  I feel a little guilty about my lack of posting.  I’m trying to figure out where my motivation has disappeared to.  I certainly can’t blame work, I’ve had a pretty easy couple of weeks.  My friend Kayla was in town this weekend and we took her out to dinner, and then coffee at Cafe Intermezzo.  Sidenote:  new favorite drink is Cafe Bach with a shot of butterscotch schnapps on the side.  That’s hardly a weeklong excuse, though.

I think what it boils down to is that General Hospital is just too good lately.  Last year when I started this adventure it was because Jake was deployed, so I had some time on my hands.  I needed something to do while I watch the soaps.  Well, now I’m down to one soap.  Insert boycott of The Chew for forever.  And GH happens to be great lately:  old characters coming back from the dead and the crossover with One Life to Live stars.   What more can you ask?If they really do bring back the nurses’ ball I will be in heaven.   I even have Jake hooked.

I’ve still been cooking away, so stay tuned; I have a few good ones in store for you.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

