RSS Feed

Basic Dough for White Bread

Posted on

Yes, it’s true.  I have been laying down on the job.  Or laying down on the blog, as it were.  I’m sorry.  I’ve been a little busy.  We went to the EPCOT Food and Wine Festival over the weekend.  Yes, we ate and drank ALL day.  And as though sampling our way around the countries wasn’t enough, we went to the 3D Dessert Party.  That translates into major dessert buffet with alcohol.  You haven’t lived until you’ve had a flambeed donut with bourbon ice cream.

Now that I’m back, rest assured, I will be making some healthy recipes.  But first, today’s post is kind of a nonrecipe.  I’ve been trying to hit some of my books in a random manner.  Well, actually, I made an alphabetized inventory and I make something from every tenth book.  That’s not anal, is it?  Anyway, the random part is that I let Jake pick a number and I make the recipe from that page.  This installment was from Julia Child’s Kitchen Wisdom.

A word about JC:  at the risk of offending you, I don’t love her.  I want to.  I really do.  I like the idea of her and I certainly love France, but I’m just not into the superlong complex recipes.  Seriously.  This recipe was five pages long.  And it required a sliding board and a baking stone.  I’m sorry, but I just can’t commit, especially considering the luck I’ve had with getting bread to rise.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

