RSS Feed

Wine-Soaked Grape Cake

Posted on

Shouldn’t every cake recipe include wine?

Obviously the baking Gods were not smiling upon me.  First, I realized that I didn’t have any oranges, an integral component of orange zest.  Then, I almost mixed up the measurements for baking soda and baking powder.  This was a mistake I made in an elementary 4-H project.  I have lived in fear of repeating it ever since.

Finally, when the recipe called for a cup and a half of grapes, no problem.  However, it only required one cup of wine and I might have mixed that up with the grape measurement and put in a little extra.  I know baking is an exact science and all, but I just tossed in the little bit of flour that was left at the end of my bag and hoped for the best.

It worked out all right, but I did get a little buzz when I licked the spatula.  The grapes really soak up the alcohol too.

This is the last installment in Sharon O’Connor’s Wine Tasting series.  As much as I’d love to move on to Cooking with the Blues, I think it’s time for a change.  I have it narrowed down to a few selections, so stay tuned.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Haha, I like how you think. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

