RSS Feed

Brioches au Sucre

Posted on

As usual, I had issues with getting my dough to rise.  Alas, I soldiered on and here’s what I got:

They were edible, but the leftovers have become dog treats.

This one was just the basic brioche dough, but it called for that fresh yeast which requires a special trip to Star Provisions.  Not that I’m complaining about that, but it is hard to find the time to drag ass over there.  I guess I’m always glad I tried it, even if it doesn’t come out amazing.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. I have some good tips on a post I made about “Tips for Baking Homemade Bread.” Many of the tips include getting dough to raise properly, including how hot the water is that you use to dissolve the yeast, having drafts (from windows or ac vents) that will kill the yeast and other ways to get the yeast to raise. You may want to check it out on my blog.

    If you live in a cold weather area one great way to get the dough to rise (assuming the yeast hasn’t been killed with too hot water, or not sparked the yeast because only lukewarm water was used) is to turn on your oven for 1 minute then shut off heat. (Take out all the racks except the bottom one). Place the dough in a greased bowl, turn dough greased side up and cover with a tea towel. If the yeast is good it should raise in this warm oven in 30-45 minutes. If the dough requires a second raise in pans (most doughs do), do the same thing again until the dough is double in bulk.

    I know how disheartening it is to spend the time and then the dough not raise properly. Check out these tips to see if they help any. FWIW, the recipe does look like it should be tried again!

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much, but none of that happened. This is a French recipe that calls for fresh yeast and there’s no liquid, except for beaten eggs. I live in Georgia and at first I set the bowl on top of a tall cabinet, in the hopes of that old heat rising thing would kick in. After a while I just sat it on the table where the warm sun was coming in through the window. I think my biggest problem is I run out of patience and time! Don’t worry, I won’t give up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

