RSS Feed

Ginger Shrimp Skewers

Posted on

Here’s a nice light snack straight from the pages of Diabetic Living and Better Homes and Gardens.  Why, you ask, do I have a Diabetic Living cookbook?  Seriously, have you been paying attention?  I have no control when it comes to picking up a new cookbook, especially one that is $3.99 at the checkout.  This particular impulse buy was back in 2007, so I don’t really remember it.  I’m sure I was lured in by the promise of healthy snacks and pictures of smoothies on the cover.  Somehow I’m always looking for a low-calorie smoothie recipe, yet I never seem to get around to making them.

Anyway, back to the shrimp.

These babies were soaked in a marinade that’s primarily orange and ginger.  Then just steam the pea pods and thread it on the skewer with the mandarin orange.  This is what I like to refer to as assembling food; even if you can’t cook, you can do it.

Jake approved of the shrimp themselves, but I had a suspicious amount of pea pods and oranges on my plate.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. That would be great for a lunch with some freinds. Thanks for sharing. My girlfreinds like shrimp.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

