RSS Feed

Chicken and Biscuit Potpie

Posted on

I know it’s only the middle of August and it’s still summer, but kids are back to school, Halloween decor is for sale, and last week I saw boots at the mall.  Face it, autumn days are right around the corner.  You realize, of course, that this is all just an excuse to make a nice hot dish on a lovely summer day.  That’s right.  I’m a rebel.  Stay tuned.  There might also be some apple pie in your future.

Another Comfort Food Fix from Ellie Krieger.

I know we’ve seen it before, but I just love the colors.

Personally, I would have preferred a few more carrots.

Good-for-you vegetables, fluffy biscuits with low-fat buttermilk and whole-wheat flour, and fresh thyme for my little collection of herbs.  What more can you ask for?  Oh, yeah, 400 calories a serving.

In other news:  in case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been around.  I was in Philly for the annual convention of the National Court Reporters Association at the Marriott downtown.  Please, hold back your jealousy.  I wish I could report that I did a lot of sightseeing and ate at some fabulous restaurants.  Alas, several events were catered by the hotel and for the other meals I was not in charge of picking the destination.  I did manage to escape a few times to the spa at the Ritz Carlton.   Of course that meant that I had to have a cocktail in the lobby bar, which happens to be 10 Arts, Eric Ripert’s new restaurant.  At  least I think it’s new.   I took a picture of the lobby, but since the same one is on the Web site, I’ll let you click away.   I would go back just to have this drink again:

The Ri-Pear Martini

…A nod to Chef Ripert’s hometown in southwest France… Grey Goose La Poire, lavender, White Cranberry

On another note, I was so not impressed with downtown Philly — sorry if you’re a Philadelphian — but it was too crowded, a little stinky, and not very friendly.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

  1. Old fashion comfort food. I can almost smell it. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

