RSS Feed

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

Posted on

Well, I hate to say it, but I think this is my first real disappointing recipe from Elizabeth Bard and Lunch in Paris.

It started out so nicely with one and a half pounds of rhubarb.

I love rhubarb, especially when it comes to the classic combo with strawberries.  Of course we grew this on the farm and my mom used to make pies, jam, cobblers, and something simply called strawberry rhubarb dessert.  I might have to look that one up and see how it differs from the rest.

Needless to say, I was looking forward to this. However, I knew I was off to a bad start when the recipe said to cut it into 1-inch pieces.  If you’ve never had rhubarb, a bite of it is usually accompanied with a pucker, even when you dip it in sugar like we used to.  The point is my mom would cut it into about 1/4 inch pieces.  Even though I suspected that I was heading for trouble, the rule-follower in me did as I was told.

The next thing that concerned me was the ratio of strawberry to rhubarb.  How much, you ask.  One cup, I say.  I know.   Unbelievable.   One cup for six to eight servings.  Sorry, EB, but that’s just selfish on the strawberries.

The crumb topping was fabulous, though.  Jake just pushed aside the “celery” and ate the rest.  I have to admit, I picked out my precious rhubarb too.

Adding a scoop of ice cream helped a lot.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. Great summer dessert. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Love rhubarb. This is one of my favorite summer desserts. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

