RSS Feed

Grilled Seafood Salad

Posted on

I’ve said it before:  I am a Mainer.   I grew up cooking and eating scallops, clams, shrimp, and of course lobster.  In the last few years I discovered calamari and order it whenever it’s on the menu.  The majority of the time it comes out breaded and deep-fried.   This is the first time I’ve attempted to prepare it myself.  It was incredible.

I have so much to say about this I don’t know where to begin.   I’ll start from the bottom:  Radicchio.  Why do I keep buying this?  I’ve tried it several times and I am never thrilled with it.  In this instance it’s pretty much a garnish anyway.  Next time I am leaving it out.

Next, the salad is cannelini beans, arugula, carrots, and yellow pepper.  I steamed my pepper a little.  Loved the greens and beans.

The squid and the scallops were brushed with the dressing.  Along with garlic, there’s parsley, thyme, and my new favorite: marjoram.  I used fresh and it was worth it.

This is from Giada and Everyday Italian.  She recommends putting the scallops onto a skewer.  I thought this was genius.

Two minutes on each side.

I guess I was so excited about the squid that I forgot to take pictures.  It comes in a little tube, and it shriveled up real quick.  I actually used kitchen shears to cut it into circles.  The moral of the story is don’t be afraid of squid.  BTW – it’s pretty cheap too.  It was only 4.99 a pound.

 

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

