RSS Feed

Duck Breast with Blackberries

Posted on

Well, the other day I was disappointed that I couldn’t roast my chicken.  This was my substitute.  I guess you would consider that an upgrade.

This was pretty easy, but, honestly, it didn’t blow my skirt up.

Browned duck breast plus blackberries simmered with butter.

So simple, so French, so Elizabeth Bard and Lunch in Paris.

I also had some Corn on the Cob with Mint-Feta Butter.  I’ve been trying to take advantage of the fresh corn, which means about 75 percent of the time we just have it on the cob.  Jake is amazed with my trick for buttering:  butter a slice of bread and then roll the ear of corn on it.  In my family:  repeat.  I swear I remember eating just four or five ears of corn for dinner as a kid.  For some reason the fact that we call it an ear of corn is distracting me at the moment.   Anyway, at the end you have a super-buttery and salty and soggy slice of bread.  Eat it.  This is one time you don’t mind using the heel.

So the point is that I am always tempted by these fancy butters and recipes for corn on the cob.  I am always enticed, but not quite willing to take the plunge.  I pulled this recipe out of a magazine and I’ve been eyeing it all summer; I still wasn’t convinced.  Somehow, somewhere, I came across another blog that I’m sorry I don’t remember.  I think the blogger literally said it changed her life.  I’m also pretty sure she said it came from Gourmet magazine.  Actually, I could have read two different posts.  Hello?  With a ringing endorsement like that how could I not try it.

Sorry I didn’t take any pictures of it on the actual corn.  That would have been nice, wouldn’t it?  My excuse:  I ate it. Seriously, it was a little messy, as you can imagine.  Plus, I had to run out to pick up Jake.  I must report that this didn’t change my life, but I am glad I tried it.  Also, there was a bunch leftover, which Jake wisely suggested to add to scrambled eggs.  That’s right.  I’ve been doing that all week.

Since it’s so easy, and I want you to have the opportunity to change your life, I will actually type the recipe for your viewing pleasure.

Stir together 1/2 stick of softened unsalted butter, 7 ounces of crumbled feta, 1/4 cup of finely chopped mint.

Eat Well and Savor.

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

