RSS Feed

Roasted Chicken

Posted on

Hands down, I think this is the best chicken I’ve ever roasted.  This is from Jennifer Reese and Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.

Rub it all over with salt and pepper and let it rest in the fridge overnight.

Stuff the cavity with a couple of lemons and some butter.  Then the fun part:  rub it all over with more butter.

Roast at 450 for 10 minutes and then add the potatoes and roast for another 40.  Personally, I think the potatoes should have been turned so that they brown on all sides, and they should be cut a little smaller too.   I almost forgot to mention the best part:  place it in the pan breast side down.  I had to read that a couple of times before it sunk in, but it makes perfect sense.  I don’t know why every chicken recipe isn’t like that.  The breast was juicy, buttery, lemony, and perfect.

It was my intention to make this yesterday.  Jake has been working in DC during the week, so I was going to greet him with a lovely roasted chicken . . . just like the Contessa does when Jeffrey returns home.  Alas, I forgot to rub him down with the salt and pepper the night before.   Him being the chicken, not Jake.  On top of that, I had a crazy day yesterday.  I took the day off because I had a hair appointment.  That’s right.  Don’t judge me.   You know, recently the Journal of Court Reporting — yep, we have our very own magazine — did an article about a day in the life of different careers in court reporting.  My boss was actually featured, and she came off as a too-good-to-be-true firm owner/boss, which she totally is.  However, it led me to joke with a friend of mine about how my day in the life would read:  sleep til 10, walk the dog, watch Live with Kelly while drinking latte, do a little editing while watching soap opera reruns, walk the dog again, eat lunch on the veranda . . . I think I’ve said enough.

The truth is yesterday did not start off that way.  I won’t bore you with too many details.  It started off at 9:15 with the dog pawing at me to wake up.  On our morning walk we went across the street, she did her business, and then our neighbor drove by and said, let me give you a ride back.  There was an injured pit bull a few doors down and she didn’t want me to have to walk by.  So me, and Phoebe, and Phoebe’s bag of poop got a ride back to our door.  Then I did watch Kelly and have a latte.  Then half an hour before heading to my hair appointment I noticed that Phoebe, the allergy queen, had a swollen nose.  So off we went to wait at the vet for a shot.  Hence, cancelled hair appointment.  All’s well that ends well, I guess, because I was able to get in with my colorist later in the day.  But still didn’t get to make the chicken.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

