RSS Feed

Guava and Cheese Empanadas

Posted on

Not only is guava tasty, but it’s also fun to say.

I fell in love with guava pastries when I lived in Florida.  We would visit the parents of my Cuban friend in Miami and always stop for treats to go along with our Cuban coffee.   I thought that guava paste would be easy to find.  I guess I assume that Whole Foods has everything.  Turns out, not so much.   They do have quince paste, which goes great with a little slice of Manchengo cheese, if you feel the need.  I often forget that there’s an international farmer’s market about two miles from here.  I’ve been a few times in the last couple of years.  In fact, it’s the only place outside of Florida that I have ever found canned papaya.  More about that later.

In addition to guava paste, these little gems have cream cheese in the crust and some farmer’s cheese inside.  I’ve never used farmer’s cheese before.  In my opinion, it’s a little bland, but add some sugar to it and I could eat it like yogurt.

If you look really close you’ll realize that you don’t have to be a scientist to figure out that when you fold that baby over everything is going to ooze out.  At first I thought that maybe the dough was more than 1/8th inch thick.  Then it occurred to me that the recipe from Cooking Light’s September 2006 issue, which is in Annual Recipes 2007 –yeah, I don’t get it either — calls for a 3-inch biscuit cutter.  Seriously, does anybody really test these recipes.  I managed to make it happen.

Even though some of them leaked a little and between that, and the sugar that I got on the cookie sheet instead of the actual empanada, the smoke alarm went off.    That sentence is a grammatical nightmare no matter how you slice it, but you get the idea.

They turned out great.

I obviously can’t get enough of that guava.  Sing it with me:  gua-VAAAA.  Speaking of which, I put it in the freezer for a bit in order to be able to cut it into pieces.  It worked like a charm.

Well, as usual, I suspect that you are on the edge of your seat to find out what I’m going to do with that canned papaya.  This is one other favorite dessert of mine that my Cuban friends introduced me too.  It may not seem like much, but it is dec-a-dent.

Just pair it with some cream cheese.  You can’t really tell, but there’s some of the syrup there too.  That is a must.  Even though my cream cheese is reduced fat, it doesn’t really matter, because that papaya packs a ridiculous caloric punch.  A small serving is all you need.

Eat Well and Savor.

 

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

2 responses »

  1. You make very gorgeous bakes, lovely! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

